The Routledge Companion to Epistemology
Bernecker (Sven) & Pritchard (Duncan), Eds.
This Page provides (where held) the Abstract of the above Book and those of all the Papers contained in it.


Inside Cover Blurb

  1. Epistemology, the philosophy of knowledge, is at the core of many of the central debates and issues in philosophy, interrogating the notions of truth, objectivity, trust, belief, and perception. The Routledge Companion to Epistemology provides a comprehensive and up-to-date survey of epistemology, charting its history, providing a thorough account of its key thinkers and movements, and addressing enduring questions and contemporary research in the field.
  2. Organized thematically, the Companion is divided into ten sections:
    1. Foundational Concepts
    2. The Analysis of Knowledge
    3. The Structure of Knowledge
    4. Kinds of Knowledge
    5. Skepticism
    6. Responses to Skepticism
    7. Knowledge and Knowledge Attributions
    8. Formal Epistemology
    9. The History of Epistemology
    10. Metaepistemological Issues
  3. Seventy-eight original chapters, each between 5000 and 7000 words and written by a leading epistemologist, provide students with an outstanding and accessible guide to the field. Designed to fit the most comprehensive syllabus in the discipline, this text will be an indispensable resource for anyone interested in this central area of philosophy.
  4. The Routledge Companion to Epistemology is essential reading for students of philosophy.
  5. Sven Bernecker is Professor of Philosophy at the University of California, Irvine. His main areas of research are epistemology, metaphysics, and philosophy of mind. He is the author of Reading Epistemology (2006), The Metaphysics of Memory (2008), and Memory: A Philosophical Study (2010); and editor, with Fred Dretske, of Knowledge: Readings in Contemporary Epistemology (2000).
  6. Duncan Pritchard is Professor at the School of Philosophy, Psychology, and Language Sciences at the University of Edinburgh. His main area of research is epistemology, and he has published widely in this area. In particular, he is the author of Epistemic Luck (2005), Epistemology A-Z (with M. Blaauw, 2005), Knowledge (2009), What is this Thing Called Knowledge? (Second Edition, Routledge, 2010), and The Nature and Value of Knowledge (with Adrian Haddock and Alan Millar, 2010).


Routledge, 2011. Downloaded from, 21st February 2020

Text Colour Conventions (see disclaimer)
  1. Blue: Text by me; © Theo Todman, 2020
  2. Mauve: Text by correspondent(s) or other author(s); © the author(s)

© Theo Todman, June 2007 - Apr 2020. Please address any comments on this page to File output:
Website Maintenance Dashboard
Return to Top of this Page Return to Theo Todman's Philosophy Page Return to Theo Todman's Home Page